New Walnut Bowl

IMG_5174

Walnut Trees Sketch_NEW_0001Last week, I spent some time along the Niagara River.  I saw the Falls again (I live only three hours away), and they are still thrilling.  But what I noticed more than ever before were the beautiful trees on my walks around, especially the abundance of lovely walnut trees.  They are stately like oaks, yet softened by their long slender leaf stalks drooping like willows, the leaflets fluttering in the breeze.

I tried to do many quick sketches on the trip, simply because it reminds me to stop and see for a moment.

Since returning, I’ve finished my efforts to do justice to the inner beauty of a walnut tree that fell closer to home.

Detail of handle end and curved recesses.

Detail of handle end and curved recesses.

In terms of overall size, this is probably the largest bowl I’ve made.  It is 27 inches long, 14 1/4 inches wide, and 5 1/4 inches high.  The decorative carving around the rim is similar to the large triangular recesses I’ve carved on a couple bowls before, but the sides of these recesses are curved, creating a series of Gothic arches of sorts, or maybe petals.

This subtle difference is a bit more challenging to lay out and carve.  I find it best to draw the outline by eye, since the recesses get progressively smaller toward the side of the bowl.  After drawing, I use a v-chisel to remove some of the bulk, then I do the rest of the cutting with a skew chisel.

The upper surface of the bowl is arched, with the rim flowing downward from the handles.

IMG_5189

Exterior view showing the texture, lines, and lovely walnut grain.

On the exterior, a raised ridge line carries the line of the handles along the bowl.  I reflected the texture of the exterior surface on the interior as well.  What a privilege I have to work with this beautiful wood.

Below are a few more assorted photos.

IMG_5165

handle detail

IMG_5187

exterior view

IMG_5162

with a two-foot ruler spanning the hollow

 

 

This entry was posted in bowls, patterns, sketch, trees, Uncategorized, walnut and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to New Walnut Bowl

  1. BobM says:

    Stunningly beautiful bowl, especially flow of the grain, thanks for sharing!

    Like

  2. Scott Kinsey says:

    No words for this one… just a sudden lack of breath!!

    Like

  3. sartorius2015 says:

    Very fine work Dave! N

    From: “David Fisher, Carving Explorations” Reply-To: “David Fisher, Carving Explorations” Date: Monday, July 6, 2015 at 4:41 PM To: “Norman E. Sartorius” Subject: [New post] New Walnut Bowl

    WordPress.com Dave Fisher posted: ” Last week, I spent some time along the Niagara River. I saw the Falls again (I live only three hours away), and they are still thrilling. But what I noticed more than ever before were the beautiful trees on my walks around, especially the abundance “

    Like

  4. Dave, I love the way you finished it, both with the ridge lines on the bottom and the arches on the top. The arches are a wonderful variation on your diamonds, and beautifully executed. My wife said they look like petals. Really well done, inspiring! I’m going to hunt some walnut… 😉

    Like

  5. Robert Tidd says:

    Hi Dave. Is the outside texture of the Bowl made with the drawknife or a gouge? If a gouge do you do this at the workbench or the Bowlhorse? Beautiful work!

    Like

  6. Dave Fisher says:

    Robert, the steps I used for the exterior of this one were: sculpt with the carving axe, refine with the drawknife at the bowlhorse, dry, then on to the workbench with gouges.

    Like

Leave a Reply

